Summer Reading–Can you recommend any dragon titles?

old books photo

Are any of your old favorites about dragons?
Image from Wikimedia Commons

I apologize for the delay of this post—I had a job interview yesterday, so there were things besides dragons on my mind. I’ll try to stick closer to schedule next week; regular posting is important to me!

Wednesday was the first day of summer, and I realized that I haven’t done nearly as much reading as I would like. I was refreshing my summer (and future) to-read list yesterday, and found a lot of ambitious goals there, from the classic unabridged Les Miserables to thousands and thousands of pages’ worth of adventure in Robert Jordan’s Wheel of Time series. I haven’t decided whether I should start by tackling these masterpieces for the first time or by revisiting shorter favorites, but what I do know is that I’ll be doing a lot of dragon reading to keep the dragons coming to Dragon Crossing.

I have a list of dragon-related books to reread, like the My Father’s Dragon books, The Hobbit, and Eragon, as well as ones I’ve never read, such as Anne McCaffrey’s Dragonriders of Pern series. My list is growing, but it is still small, so I would love your suggestions.

What are your favorite books dealing with dragons, and what are some others that you wish hadn’t been written? Were there any children’s books that made you a fan of dragons, as there were for me, or did you learn to love them as a teen or an adult? I welcome your suggestions as I add Dragon Crossing fodder to my summer to-read list.

Just for fun, what are YOU reading this summer?

Categories: Children's, Fantasy Fiction, Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “Summer Reading–Can you recommend any dragon titles?

  1. I really liked “DragonSpell” (DragonKeeper Chronicles #1 of 5) by Donita K. Paul.
    I only have read “DragonSpell” (so I can’t speak for the other books), but it really inspired me. 😉

  2. I’ve heard the Temeraire books are good by Naomi Novik, but I’ve never read them myself.

    This summer I want to read The Great Gatsby, Dracula, the last Inheritance book, and FINALLY finish the Grimm Fairytales (I’ve been reading them for what seems like forever) and many many more! But those are the top ones I want to read. 🙂

    • I read the Great Gatsby for school once, but I think I was young or distracted–I think it mostly went right past me. As interesting as the story was, Christopher Paolini’s writing style just bugged me a lot, so I had my sister tell me how the last book ended. I normally don’t do that, but this time, I did. I don’t know that I’ve read all the Grimm fairy tales, but I’m definitely a fairy tale lover. I once read all of Hans Christian Andersen’s fairy tales–now THOSE can get depressing!
      Thank you for the recommendation; I will have to look up Naomi Novik and see what I can find out! 🙂

      • Yeah, I can definitely understand about Chrisopher Paolini’s writing. A lot of people dislike it, I’m sort of in two minds about it. Sometimes I love it, and other times I get irritated by it. I think the reason I like the series is because I read the first book when I was about 11 or something and it was the first book about dragons I read. I’m not sure if I discovered it now and read it I would feel the same.
        Ahh well after I’ve read The Great Gatsby I’ll be reviewing it, so maybe that will refresh your memory. 🙂
        I haven’t read any Christian Andersen ones, don’t you think it’s strange that there is such a fairytale trend this year?

        No problem! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

